Haikus (and thoughts on the process) – by Gary Picard

“So you see, it comes from everyday life. I can’t explain how. All I know is that I can feel something shift inside. And then I think really, really hard and the pen starts to move. And that, that feeling, is like nothing else in the world.”

 

That’s Gary Picard sharing a process that probably a lot of people can relate to (and reminds me of a Bill Evans quote I may post someday that demystifies the creative process to some degree – working hard really can get you where you want to go).

 

Now read four more of his Haikus – and a lot more of his thoughts on the creative process…

 

 

 

Four Haikus – by Gary Picard

 

       downtown courthouse                              silent slumber

wet and grey with morning rain                     buried in thought

        pigeons roosting                                          sun stabs                                

                                                                             first light

                                                                              on rocks

 

 

                        a

                 spider

             all alone

   waits patiently                                  settles evenly…the dust

                                                           covers and preserves  stored memories

                                                             in a room   seldom visited

 

 

I don’t have a degree ( I just enrolled this fall ) or any formal training in writing, so I pretty much read what I like then write what sounds good to my ear. It’s fairly simple. Not sure how interesting this is going to be, but if you can use any part of it, please do so.

My writing process: when I get home from work my wife and I have supper, then clean up and finish any chores. Usually I’m up in my office by 7:30pm writing or doing homework. My writing has always been at night and never on the weekend. I write from personal experience. I just can’t make it up. Living it is half the fun.

I was poking around a bookstore years ago and came across a book of Haiku poetry by Wally Swist. After thumbing through it quickly, I bought it. Those poems were short but filled with imagery. I was amazed at how much detail could be pulled from roughly 17 syllables. That’s how I became interested in poetry.

For 10 yrs I lived in Rhode Island and many of my poems originated there. I was a docent at Roger Williams Park Zoo and we had these wooden walkways through a wetlands setting. There was this one spot where many carp would gather at the surface with their huge mouths opening and closing constantly. That’s where “murky waters brown…” came from. I once rented a 3 room house in Warwick by the old amusement park and there was a nice cove at the end of my street. “by the tide pool…” came from their along with a few others. When I moved back home to Chicopee I bought a trailer in a trailer park and lived there for 3 1/2 years. I wrote most of my poems during that time.

I’ve written over 100 Haiku and free verse poems and I can tell you a story behind each one. For example:

 

“silent slumber… fishing with my father at Quabbin

 

“downtown courthouse… jury duty in Springfield

 

” a spider… when my kids were small we had a big spider in the garage we fed all summer. Look at the structure of this one. Each line has one more syllable than the previous. And the last line, the fourth, has four syllables!

 

“settles evenly… I once rented an apartment that had a huge attic. I used to go up there to sit and think.

 

 

So you see, it comes from everyday life. I can’t explain how. All I know is that I can feel something shift inside. And then I think really, really hard and the pen starts to move. And that, that feeling, is like nothing else in the world.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

