Two Songs by Adam Bryant

Epitaph

Is it a sin to be alive if I’m evil?

Tell me, dearest, what’s the limitations there

I feel you know nothing about what’s obscure or divine

Cradling that ugly book by its tattered spine

You’ve got to let go

 

I fear

Not death

The death has its way of comforting me

Its taste seems eloquent and sweet

I fear

For you

The things that you do

To keep yourself up upon your feet

 

You’ve got to let go of this sometime, dearest Lenore

For when the raven spoke of god he cried “nevermore”

It’s humorous to think that what drives the weak

Is their ability to speak to non-existence

 

Glory, glory, hallelujah

Glory, glory, kill the child

Glory, glory, we’ll watch it all fall down

In the end is where we’ll catch ’em; make ’em drown

 

You’ve got to let go of this sometime, dearest Lenore

For when the raven spoke of god he cried “nevermore”

It’s humorous to think that what drives the weak

Is their ability to speak to non-existence

 

Is it a sin to alive if I’m evil?

Is it blasphemy to sing of such a tune?

Well my tongue won’t seem to stop itself

From rhyming of your foolishness

It’s licking at the crown of thorns you claim to see

Be gone from me

With a devil making itself home within my throat

 

I ask you to to speak of wisdom…

I ask you to speak of wisdom…

And sweet…sweet…silence

Sweet…sweet…silence

 

 

 

 

 

 

La Coppia

Technicolor dreamland

Helps me understand

If I’m dying now I’m not alone

With you holding me

Each dot symbolizes a thought

Of being with you

That’s why the cycle never ends

 

Scent of fresh skin lingers on your body

And when your lips move sometimes I’m in a daze

Locked in time with your gaze

 

And I’m whole…

And I’m whole…

Come measure my heart

 

Let it spiral in

Creating a canvas

The paint mixes colors between us

A starry night cascades into beauty

Only measured by your name

And I could paint a Van Gogh from your eyes

 

And I’m whole…

And I’m whole…

Come measure my heart

 

Technicolor dreamland

Helps me understand

If I’m dying now I’m not alone

With you holding me

Each dot symbolizes a thought I have

Of being with you, babe

That’s why the cycle never end

One thought on “Two Songs by Adam Bryant

  1. Adam comments on his work…

    These are two sets of lyrics I wrote for my band. The first one, “Epitaph” is kinda a portrayal of a Paradise Lost theme where this guy (kinda like Lucifer in Paradise Lost) is trying to convince his friend or lover who is deathly ill that god will not save her and only she can save herself. The second is “La Coppia” which is Italian for “The Couple.” I based it around a painting I made for my girlfriend, so the song is actually about comparing her to artwork.

Leave a Reply

