Lotus Eater Blues – by Christopher Goudreau

Here’s a new poem…

Lotus Eater Blues

There’s somebody outside the door

The hammer never ends

With yellow eyes of forgotten lore

The languid nights descend

Well met for the shadow of your lark

Said the man with the seventh face

Held by cypress of withered bark

And loves of winding lace  

Lay them to the ground

Oh, lay the lotus by my grave

The night has gone to meet me here

So, lay the lotus by my grave  

Now with the lights all shining yonder

The man he stood by the door

Looking through the years to wander

For the ravaged monuments left no more

He said “Your flowers blossom in the night”

Well that it may be so  
Then he said “Your night has gone”

It left some time ago  

Lay them to the ground

Oh, lay the lotus by my grave

The night has gone to meet me here

So, lay the lotus by my grave  

And as the night began to part its way

For its mistress left alone

He seized the flowers in wrought decay

By light of the morning shone

And just as a pauper finds his truths

Or a rich man finds his fate

He was burned in ecstasy

And his night was there to wait

 
Lay them to the ground

Oh, lay the lotus by may grave

The night has gone to meet me here

So, lay the lotus by my grave

One thought on “Lotus Eater Blues – by Christopher Goudreau

  1. Christopher writes…

    “The first poem entitled “Lotus Eater Blues” is a blues ballad based on the Homer’s Odyssey, The Child Ballads, and Delta and Piedmont Blues. I intend to write music for this eventually, but for now it can stand on its own.”

    I’ve heard Christopher’s work in the Creative Writing Club, and I always like the shades of Bob Dylan, in addition to the other sources he mentions…

Leave a Reply

