“Farewell on Eros Broken Wings” – by Christopher Goudreau

You told me “Farwell on Eros Broken Wings”

I wasn’t quite sure in what you meant

You were lying right beside me with your holy ornaments

Seeing through the back draft and the tide

Well we first met ‘neath the apple tree

With the wind and sunlight seeping into dreams

You said “This tree is feeling somber”

“This wood has lost its tone”

And right on then the sky began to moan

Farewell on Eros Broken Wings

It’s time to leave here beneath the spring 

Not to laugh or shade the morning

Not to speak again

Farewell to my love on broken wings

Of pearls you wore with your hair left undone

Your scarlet lips remind me of the sun

You were sweeter than the spring time

Of that I am quite sure

Now the winters come and gone but to endure

And once you told me “Nothing here is plain”

“Though this apple core will wither and decay”

And then you quite surprised me

As if I was lost beneath your throne

You said “The time we have is passing like a stone”

Farewell on Eros Broken Wings

It’s time to leave here beneath the spring

Not to laugh or shade the morning

Not to speak again

Farwell to my love on broken wings

Now the morning has arisen, the crows are in their trees

The farmers picking cotton from his seed

And then I find a letter in a hollow alphabet

It said “To read underneath the apple tree”

So then I laid beside it, neath curling branches swung

The morning turned to day when it was done

I lifted soft the envelope your writing was but spare

As does wild blossoms often come to bare
It said “Farewell on Eros Broken Wings”

“It’s time to leave here beneath the spring”

“Not to laugh or shade the morning”

 “Not to speak again”

“Farwell to my love on broken wings”

One thought on ““Farewell on Eros Broken Wings” – by Christopher Goudreau

Leave a Reply

