“Heaven and Hell” – poem by Nathan Lovotti

This poem by Nathan reminds me a little of Frost’s “Fire and Ice” in the way it has a light, jokey tone and rhythm – and deeper ideas just below. The image is by William Blake.

Heaven and Hell both collide on Earth

Even after your death and before your birth

Angels and demons are in each and everyone

The angels may be good, but the demons are more fun 

But it’s all your choice to choose evil or good

To do what you want or to do what you should

To fill the world with love or let hate consume

To make the world a better place or bring about its doom 

Now I have seen the Devil and I have seen God

One shakes his head at me while the other one nods

They both whisper sweet words in my ear

And I cannot tell which one I more fear

Leave a Reply

