“Silhouettes” – poem by Megan Dupre

 Here’s a poem that Megan recently wrote as a song…

 

I’ve never felt so defeated.

The longer we remain

the more fear comes my way.

I know you want to believe

we could always shine this brilliantly.

Inside I’m fading, dying for some proof.

Let’s stand beside this rundown town.

On the count of three, let’s take out time.

 

If you could stay with me,

I’d include you in my plans

until the end of time.

If you could say this with me,

I’d always be your sanity.

I’ll forget days before us,

no more shadows in the sun.

 

If these scars could destroy themselves,

I’d fight for you and no one else.

I’m tangled in the irony,

in way too deep, water at my knees.

But I’d rather fall at your feet

than have to live such fragile dreams.

 

The pavement’s burning away.

We’ve lost out on the fire,

buried under the covers,

forgetting the distance of the sun.

Forget the distance of the sun.

Heal the eyes of the neglected ones,

no more shadows in the sun.

One thought on ““Silhouettes” – poem by Megan Dupre

  1. I like this and I wonder what it would be like to hear an audio sample of her or someone singing it w/ guitar….

Leave a Reply

