“Ocean Breeze” – poem by Megan Dupre

 

You discovered my portfolio,

and captured a piece of my soul.

An escape from everything back home

brought on a deadly sin.

I’m reaching out but nothing is holding,

I know this is temporary.

Who am I when I am with you?

Who am I when I am with him?

While searching for the answer,

I fell into a steam of lies.

The ocean song still plays in my mind,

like the day that we first met.

It is the sand that’s stuck between my toes

that won’t let me let you go.

Leave a Reply

