Winter Morning – poem by Laura Champagne

 

Stepping outside, leaving the ticking clock and florescent lighting behind,

I enter a snowy world of suspended time.

The dusky gray sky, back-lit by the rising sun,

hidden somewhere behind the impenetrable barrier of clouds.

Silence broken only by the protest of the crows flying overhead.

I recognize my smallness,

realize the uncontrolled and untamed forces I am a mere spectator of.

I am lost in dreamy contemplation as I stare at the once solitary,

and completely unique crystalline snowflakes

merging and melding, draping perfectly,

decorating all my eyes can see.

(NOTE: the image is from spraygraphic.com)

3 thoughts on “Winter Morning – poem by Laura Champagne

  1. This poem is brilliant! It is rife with allegorical imagery which connects to feelings of ‘smallness’ within society and the inevitability of death for which all must succumb to. ” Silence broken only by the protest of the crows flying overhead. I recognize my smallness, realize the uncontrolled and untamed forces I am a mere spectator of.” These lines are by far my favorite within this poem, keep up the good work.

  2. Was thinking of LSMC last night. Found this poem this morning. Reminded me of a beautiful photograph of a tree I once saw taken in the early morning twilight of a snowy morning.

Leave a Reply

