“Unhinged” – poem by Colin Devine

Unhinged

 

 

A light appeared in my heart,

But     it        did      not                        calm                       me     down.

It fueled me and my hatred.

I  fought   back  and                hid                           from                                    it.

It                             eventually                        found                  me     and   dragged   me  along.

                    I

had

 no                                   control,

 

 ( ( ( ( it locked me up ) ) ) )

 

And took control of my body,

                                                                      changing                                     it         

 from                                                                        the

                               inside,

But               it                  left

                                                            the               outside

 unchanged.

I couldn’t handle it anymore,

                                        so                           I

                                                                                                                        broke                      apart.                                                                                         

I                                                                                         couldn’t                                                                                                                                                             fix                                                                                                                                                                                                                         myself,                                                                                                                                           but              I                  could                               escape

To a place that        it       and    myself

 

could

 

never

 

hope

 

to

 

find.

Leave a Reply

