“Crushed” – poem by Matt Rannenberg

You don’t know me

and I don’t know you

and I like you.

 

In reality you’d call that creepy,

Pining over a lover that’s make believe.

Flattering?

Try overwhelming.

 

You don’t know me

and I don’t know how I should

approach you now.

 

Oh, isn’t this Sisyphean tribulation poetic?

Carrying the weight

of adoring you silently, persistently

through a valley and up a mountain.

 

You don’t know me

and I’m already

trying to carry you on my back.

 

Being let down by a thought is easy.

It’s every decision I can’t dissect that terrifies me

and keeps me crushed

under the weight of my silence.

 

You don’t know me

and I already have to

Let you roll back down to the valley

 

(Note: the image is from emotionalcompetency.com)

Leave a Reply

