Turnstile – by Matt Rannenberg

Is this just a game we play

to make it all seem fun?

I hate that hollow feeling I

get in my chest when I

realize how easily I can give up.

A painter paints my canvas grey

as I stand idly by.

I stand idly by too stoned

in a stupor too sweet

to surrender to the shadow of the sphinx.

It’s all just too much, you see

I don’t want to walk alone.

where’s your severed ear, can’t you hear?

I don’t want to walk alone

 

(note: image is from my.spill.com)

Leave a Reply

