“Unfinished Business” – poem by Eric Cowhey

It’s a form of control

it’s a tax, a toll

a yes or a no

but relax

it moves slow

 

Thirty days to pay

to find a way

to reach an agreement

that won’t let you fail quite yet

 

I feel like time poorly spent

fresh wine

more bitter than sweet

all my credit’s been lent

 

x dollars =

the illiterate and the scholars

debating the new cba

in meetings and court

a reply, a retort

concessions before the temporary stay

 

It’s one last lunge with my last gasp

body weary and voice a rasp

this flush is fading to bust

it’s up in the air if i’ll last

 

Drove myself deep down south

chain of cigarettes tethered to my mouth

I got lost on a road overgrown

but I fucked up so i can’t go home

 

 

 

(note: the image is from hickoksports.com)

 

Leave a Reply

